Blogia
Spreading tentacles of English...once again! , by Alex Sospedra.

It rained cats and dogs, but it was a good birthday

It rained cats and dogs, but it was a good birthday

Writing exercise form a First Certificate exam: write a story that starts with this sentence: “I will always remember that day as one of the happiest days of my life”.

This is the second version of the exercise...:

I will always remember that day as one of the happiest days of my life. It’s strange that it seemed to be one of my worst ones when it started…

 

It was my birthday and a party had been perfectly prepared. My friends and I would have it in a restaurant on the beach. So, it was supposed to be a fantastic sunny day with pizzas, sea water and lots of friends. But idyllic mental images don’t usually get real, as I found out when the incredibly pessimistic weather report said us “good morning” in its way. We would have to put the party back.

 

As it was still raining in the noon, I definitely had to turn down the idea of having the party. However, I suddenly started to plan a possible solution in my mind not to run out of the party. I reminded the existence of a nearby sports centre and called everybody right away to tell my friends about my plan. We met there, hired an indoor pitch and played football for hours. After getting ready at home, we met again in a bar in town, where we had dinner and had a great time too. It was one of the greatest days I’ve had, that’s for sure.

0 comentarios