Blogia
Spreading tentacles of English...once again! , by Alex Sospedra.

A strange destiny, an ironic end.

A strange destiny, an ironic end.

Writing exercise form a First Certificate exam: write a story that starts with this sentence: “I will always remember that day as one of the happiest days of my life”.

This is the first version...:

I will always remember that day as one of the happiest days of my life. In all likelihood this sentence is the biggest lie I’ve ever said. This is the story of a crazy day in my always disorganized life.

 

A few years ago, April the 1st started as a usual day. When I got up, I had to bear the unsettled shutters of my bedroom windows and my cat desperating mews. After having reprimanded it, its grunt was heard by my teasing-loving neighbor, a boy who is the same age than mine. The difference between us is that his greatest hobby is to wander through the streets wearing a pink skirt and a red sweater singing “It’s raining men” out of tune and deep voice. That day he decided to do this into my home. I was late for school, so I really was in a rush. When I fast opened the door, a posh voice and a nasty cologne smell invaded the whole flat. I shouted to him “What are you doing!?” as loud as I could in order to scary my outrageous neighbor (this is the best way of communicating him he is not welcome, believe me). But now, I regret having done such a thing: he suffered a neurotic attack because of my action and I finished the morning kidnapped in the tiny cellar of my own flat.

 

Fortunately or not, I discovered a secret trap to escape. It led me to an ancient well, through which I got to the public general sewer. After two hours trying not to put my feet into the dark, filthy water, I found an exit. The first thing I saw was the sun and its light…The ironic thing about end of my adventure was the second thing I saw: my blue-painted school.

0 comentarios